Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
The Black Swan of Paris
Cover of The Black Swan of Paris
The Black Swan of Paris
A WWII Novel
"A truly outstanding novel."—Heather Morris, #1 bestselling author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz"Emotional and powerful."—Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of...
"A truly outstanding novel."—Heather Morris, #1 bestselling author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz"Emotional and powerful."—Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of...
Available Formats-
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    0
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • "A truly outstanding novel."—Heather Morris, #1 bestselling author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz
    "Emotional and powerful."—Pam Jenoff,
    New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris
    From
    New York Times bestselling author Karen Robards comes one of the most anticipated novels of the summer...
    A world at war. A beautiful young star. A mission no one expected.
    Paris, 1944
    Celebrated singer Genevieve Dumont is both a star and a smokescreen. An unwilling darling of the Nazis, the chanteuse's position of privilege allows her to go undetected as an ally to the resistance.
    When her estranged mother, Lillian de Rocheford, is captured by Nazis, Genevieve knows it won't be long before the Gestapo succeeds in torturing information out of Lillian that will derail the upcoming allied invasion. The resistance movement is tasked with silencing her by any means necessary—including assassination. But Genevieve refuses to let her mother become yet one more victim of the war. Reuniting with her long-lost sister, she must find a way to navigate the perilous cross-currents of Occupied France undetected—and in time to save Lillian's life.
    For fans of The Nightingale, The Women in the Castle and The Lost Girls of Paris, this exquisite novel illuminates three women's strength, courage and capacity for unconditional love.

About the Author-

  • Karen Robards is the New York Times, USA TODAY and Publishers Weekly bestselling author of fifty novels and one novella. She is the winner of six Silver Pen awards and numerous other awards.

Reviews-

  • Publisher's Weekly

    Starred review from April 27, 2020
    Famed, beautiful Parisian singer Genevieve Dumont uses her alliance with the Resistance to rescue her mother from the Nazis in Robards’s thrilling latest (after The Fifth Doctrine). As the darling of Paris’s music scene, Genevieve receives adulation from the Nazis while secretly helping her manager, Max Bonet, an intelligence operative working with the British. When Genevieve returns to her childhood home and discovers that the Germans have killed her father and taken her mother, Baroness Lillian de Rocheford, prisoner, Genevieve becomes resolute in her efforts to rescue her and joins forces with her estranged sister, Emmy, also an agent for the British. Genevieve gains the attention of Gen. Claus von Wagner, a high-ranking German officer who she believes knows her mother’s whereabouts. In her quest to save Lillian, Genevieve persuades Max to help by revealing a painful story from her past. Together, Emmy, Genevieve, and Max risk their lives in a well-planned but highly risky mission to free Lillian from von Wagner’s German estate where she is being held prisoner. Robards blends commendable attention to historical detail with intense realism and deep feeling. Historical fiction fans will be enthralled with this richly hewn novel and the romance and danger lurking around its every corner. Agent: Robert Gottlieb, Trident Media Group, LLC.

  • Booklist

    May 15, 2020
    Beneath the glitz and glamour of the life of singing star Genevieve Dumont, aka Black Swan, lies a whirlwind story of love, loss, sacrifice, and war in Paris, 1944. Robards (The Fifth Doctrine, 2019) delivers a suspenseful historical account of the women in the R�sistance who used heart, body, and soul to advance the Allies plans for an invasion, despite the ironclad control of the Nazis. Genevieve encounters a cast of characters with cloaked intentions, including Max, her manager and leader of her tour group; her dresser, Berthe; Max's driver, Otto; and myriad others. When she catches news that her mother, Lillian de Rocheford, has been taken prisoner, it releases past memories of loss as Genevieve takes action. She jumps into the fray, first purely by instinct, then with the full knowledge that lives are at risk and the future of freedom in Europe lies in the balance. WWII history buffs will appreciate the accurate depictions and backdrop, while romantic-suspense lovers will eagerly follow Genevieve from the seashores of France to the hilltops of Germany.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2020, American Library Association.)

  • Library Journal

    June 1, 2020

    Genevieve Dumont is an acclaimed star, a popular singer in Paris in 1944. She appears to live a happy, carefree life as a darling of the Nazi party. However, readers quickly learn that appearances can be deceiving. Genevieve isn't just a typical performer; she's working with the Resistance, collecting important and confidential information to relay back to the French. When she learns that her mother, Baroness Lillian de Rocheford, who's also working with the Resistance, has been captured by the Nazis, she realizes that she must repair her relationship with long-lost sister Emmy in order to save her mother's life. Robards takes a step away from her contemporary works ("Guardian" romantic suspense series) and delves into the world of historical fiction, crafting an engaging story that explores an often overlooked aspect of World War II lore. VERDICT For fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale, this page-turning novel full of suspense and excitement examines the lengths to which we are willing to go for our loved ones.[See Prepub Alert, 12/9/19.]--Cassandra Walsh, South County Lib., Bellport, NY

    Copyright 2020 Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    MIRA Books
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 30 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
The Black Swan of Paris
The Black Swan of Paris
A WWII Novel
Karen Robards
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
The Black Swan of Paris
The Black Swan of Paris
A WWII Novel
Karen Robards
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Halton District School Board, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close