Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Train I Ride
Cover of Train I Ride
Train I Ride
Borrow Borrow
4 starred reviews! "Heartbreaking, hilarious, and life-affirming" (Ami Polonsky, author of Gracefully Grayson and Threads)Rydr is on a train heading east, leaving California, where her gramma can't...
4 starred reviews! "Heartbreaking, hilarious, and life-affirming" (Ami Polonsky, author of Gracefully Grayson and Threads)Rydr is on a train heading east, leaving California, where her gramma can't...
Available Formats-
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • 4 starred reviews! "Heartbreaking, hilarious, and life-affirming" (Ami Polonsky, author of Gracefully Grayson and Threads)

    Rydr is on a train heading east, leaving California, where her gramma can't take care of her anymore, and traveling to Chicago, to live with an unknown relative. She brings with her a backpack, memories both happy and sad, and a box containing something very important.

    As Rydr meets her fellow passengers and learns their stories, her own story begins to emerge. It's one of sadness and heartache, and one Rydr would sometimes like to forget.

    But as much as Rydr may want to run away from her past, on the train she finds that hope and forgiveness are all around her, and most importantly, within her, if she's willing to look for it.

    From Publishers Weekly Flying Start author Paul Mosier comes a poignant story about a young girl's travels by train from Los Angeles to Chicago in which she learns along the way that she can find family wherever she is. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Sharon Creech.

About the Author-

  • Paul Mosier began writing novels in 2011 but has written in some fashion his entire life. He lives a short walk from the place of his birth in downtown Phoenix, Arizona, but it has been a very circuitous route that brought him there. He is married and is a father to two lovely daughters. He loves listening to baseball on the radio, eating vegetarian food, drinking coffee, talking nonstop, and riding trains. In fact, he has ridden most of the route described in Train I Ride, which is his debut novel. Visit him on Facebook or on his blog, www.novelistpaulmosier.wordpress.com.

Reviews-

  • Publisher's Weekly

    December 12, 2016
    At 12, Rydr (as she takes to calling herself) has known only hurt, loss, and upheaval. She never met her father, witnessed her mother’s fatal drug overdose, and moved in with her stony grandmother, where life was “comfortably dreadful.” Mosier sets his piercing debut novel on the train carrying Rydr from Los Angeles to Chicago to live with a great-uncle she’s never met, following her grandmother’s death. Rydr’s frank internal monologue and the friendships she forges with fellow passengers shape an emotionally expansive and deeply affecting story. Among those who help Rydr overcome her anger at the family that failed her are the compassionate young man running the snack counter, who ignores her sticky fingers, and a thoughtful boy traveling with his scout troop, who shares his vulnerability with Rydr, as well as his cherished copy of Allen Ginsberg’s Howl. Through understated storytelling, Mosier movingly shows how Rydr’s bitterness gives way to self-acceptance, a willingness to trust others, and hope for the future. Heartbreaking and unforgettable. Ages 8–12. Agent: Wendy Schmalz, Wendy Schmalz Agency.

  • Kirkus

    Starred review from October 1, 2016
    Rydr, as she calls herself, is trying to put a brave face on a journey that feels much like doom.The 13-year-old, hungry and broke, is the daughter of an addicted mom who used to have public embarrassmentsbut now shes dead. Her reluctant grandmother (also now dead), whose best quality was her excellent pancakes, was her next not-quite-a-caregiver. Now the girl, battered by life but always resiliently and often cleverly struggling forward, is on a long train trip from Palm Springs to Chicago, where shell be placed with an elderly great-uncle she doesnt know but whose monthly check will get bigger when she arrives. During the journey shes under the care of, then befriended and perhaps even saved by, Dorothea, an Amtrak escort, Neal, a gay snack bar worker, Carlos, a traveling poet, and an antipathetic Boy Scout called Tenderchunks who touches her heart. Along the way Rydr will savor her first kiss, run away from the train and her memoriesbut returnleave the burden of her mothers ashes in an Iowa wood, and nearly destroy a restroom while trying to cope with her excruciating recollections. Her pluck and her perceptive narrative voice combine to make her brief yet deeply affecting connections with caring strangers plausible although occurring over the course of just a few days. Race and culture are implied in naming convention and speech patterns, with characters defaulting to white. A harrowing, moving, immersive, and ultimately uplifting debut novel. (Fiction. 11-16)

    COPYRIGHT(2016) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    November 1, 2016

    Gr 4-6-Rydr is Chicago-bound on an Amtrak train from Palm Springs, CA. Leaving her recently deceased grandmother, Rydr travels through the West and Midwest toward an uncertain future with a distant and unknown relative. Rydr is used to making her way through life solo and is still working through her mother's struggle with drugs and subsequent death. Armed with her SpongeBob wristwatch and subsisting on a diet of doughnut holes and veggie burgers, Rydr spends her journey meeting a variety of passengers and avoiding Dorothea, her assigned chaperone. Through her interactions with Carlos, a writer paid by the train company to put pen to paper, and Tenderchunks, a poetry-loving Boy Scout, Rydr finds comfort in words and gains a new outlook on her future. In this debut novel, Mosier gives middle grade readers a character who battles life's challenges with extreme honesty and doesn't sugarcoat her inner battles. VERDICT A tale that will stay with readers long after they reach the final destination. A strong purchase for middle grade collections.-Claire Moore, Darien Library, CT

    Copyright 2016 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus Reviews (starred review) ★ "A harrowing, moving, immersive, and ultimately uplifting debut novel."
  • School Library Journal (starred review) ★ "In this debut novel, Mosier gives middle grade readers a character who battles life's challenges with extreme honesty and doesn't sugarcoat her inner battles. A tale that will stay with readers long after they reach the final destination."
  • Booklist (starred review) ★ "In his first novel, Mosier offers a cast of well-drawn characters, an unusual setting, and a rewarding reading experience."
  • Publishers Weekly (starred review) ★ "An emotionally expansive and deeply affecting story. Heartbreaking and unforgettable."
  • Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books "Rydr herself is sympathetic, and she's got a believable voice, a mix of vulnerability, edginess, and raw fury at her rotten luck. Readers who like drama, sentiment, and tidy, tearful endings may find this to be the ticket."

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 30 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Train I Ride
Train I Ride
Paul Mosier
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Train I Ride
Train I Ride
Paul Mosier
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close