Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Catch the Sky
Cover of Catch the Sky
Catch the Sky
Playful Poems on the Air We Share
Borrow
"Clever and effective for the pre- and primary school nature shelves."—Kirkus In the vein of Jack Prelutsky and Dennis Lee comes a celebration of the sky with thirty zippy poems that will lift...
"Clever and effective for the pre- and primary school nature shelves."—Kirkus In the vein of Jack Prelutsky and Dennis Lee comes a celebration of the sky with thirty zippy poems that will lift...
Available Formats-
  • OverDrive Read
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • "Clever and effective for the pre- and primary school nature shelves."—Kirkus

    In the vein of Jack Prelutsky and Dennis Lee comes a celebration of the sky with thirty zippy poems that will lift kids' spirits and let their imaginations soar.

    What do you see when you look up at the sky? In this "lyrical" picture book (Booklist) for ages 3-8, the award-winning and critically-acclaimed children's poet, Robert Heidbreder, shares thirty memorable poems that capture the magic and beauty of all the wonderful things kids can see when they gaze at the sky. Gorgeous illustrations by artist and naturalist Emily Dove depict a diverse cast of children playing and cheering under a sky filled with birds and balloons, snow and shooting stars, sunflowers and falling leaves, and helicopters and kites.

    "A multicultural cast of children are shown reveling in the outdoors. Readers are encouraged to observe and appreciate the natural world around them."
    Booklist

Reviews-

  • Publisher's Weekly

    October 19, 2020
    This collection of 30 poems celebrates the sights of the sky, taking readers gradually from sunrise to sunset via scenery from around the world. True to the title, Heidbreder describes a wide range of aerial views, including weather (storms), wildlife (starlings), and manufactured objects (helicopters), with one word described in poetry on each page. Most of the poems are quatrains penned in accessibly simple diction, with a spry cleverness apparent throughout (“kites bound to ground / sky-dive everywhere”). Dove’s spongy textured landscapes are rendered in inviting, softly colored gradients; digital illustrations portray people of different skin tones, religions, and abilities celebrating the air we all breathe. These lighthearted poems will entertain the youngest nature and poetry enthusiasts. Ages 3–8.

  • Kirkus

    June 15, 2020
    Thirty short poems celebrate what might be seen in the "air we share" around the world in this Canadian import. From a rosy dawn to moonlit night, Heidbreder lyrically limns the sunshine, clouds, northern lights, and snowflakes; the insects, birds, and bats; and even human contributions, including helicopters, paragliders, and fireworks--examples of "sky's treasures" we see and share. His quatrains are simply titled and carefully arranged, not only across the day, but in clear pairs: wind and leaves, squirrels and starlings on electric wires, kites and birthday helium balloons (tethered but still unfortunate in a collection celebrating the environment). A longtime writer of poetry for young people, this Canadian author makes the rhyming, alliteration, and scansion seem effortless, and the verbs do double duty. A dragonfly's "gleaming wings / glitter the air"; a "rumbling storm train / thunders the sky." The imagery is memorable: "Black on black, / swish-soft swirls. / Night bats feast / in whirling twirls." Dove's colorful illustrations support the title's message, showing children with varying skin tones, hair, and head coverings in a wide variety of settings. Two different children use wheelchairs. There are city apartments, parks, a tropical beach, and a snowy Arctic village, all shown in spreads that reinforce the sense of a passing day. Deceptively simple but clever and effective for the pre- and primary school nature shelves. (Picture book/poetry. 3-8)

    COPYRIGHT(2020) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Booklist

    July 1, 2020
    Preschool-G Thirty-one short poems with no more than 18 words each capture a wide variety of objects that fly, float, soar, or simply exist in the air around and above us. The lyrical poems begin with their subject printed in italics at the start: Leaves / Swinging, clinging, / all sizes and shapes, / leaves wait for fall / to make their escapes. Bats, starlings, hot-air balloons, clouds, kites, helicopters, and sunflowers are just a few of the topics that Heidbreder has chosen to feature with his poetic language. Dove's soft, colorful, digitally enhanced watercolor illustrations reveal an idealized natural environment filled with the wonder of the air around and the sky above us. A multicultural cast of children are shown reveling in the outdoors and witnessing much of what it has to offer. From Sunrise to Good Night, Sky, readers are encouraged to observe and appreciate the natural world around them.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2020, American Library Association.)

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Greystone Books
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 30 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Catch the Sky
Catch the Sky
Playful Poems on the Air We Share
Robert Heidbreder
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Catch the Sky
Catch the Sky
Playful Poems on the Air We Share
Robert Heidbreder
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Halton District School Board, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close