Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
The Light Between Worlds
Cover of The Light Between Worlds
The Light Between Worlds
What happens when you return to the real world after being in a fantastical one like Narnia? This YA debut by Laura E. Weymouth is perfect for fans of Melissa Albert's The Hazel Wood and Lev Grossman's...
What happens when you return to the real world after being in a fantastical one like Narnia? This YA debut by Laura E. Weymouth is perfect for fans of Melissa Albert's The Hazel Wood and Lev Grossman's...
Available Formats-
  • OverDrive Listen
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    0
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • What happens when you return to the real world after being in a fantastical one like Narnia? This YA debut by Laura E. Weymouth is perfect for fans of Melissa Albert's The Hazel Wood and Lev Grossman's The Magicians.

    Six years ago, sisters Evelyn and Philippa Hapwell were swept away to a strange and beautiful kingdom called the Woodlands, where they lived for years. But ever since they returned to their lives in post-WWII England, they have struggled to adjust.

    Ev desperately wants to return to the Woodlands, and Philippa just wants to move on. When Ev goes missing, Philippa must confront the depth of her sister's despair and the painful truths they've been running from. As the weeks unfold, Philippa wonders if Ev truly did find a way home, or if the weight of their worlds pulled her under.

    Walking the line between where fantasy and reality meet, this lyrical and magical novel is, above all else, an exploration of loss and healing, and what it means to find where you belong.

About the Author-

  • Laura E. Weymouth was born and raised in Ontario; she now lives in western New York, along with her husband, two wild-hearted daughters, a spoiled cat, and an indeterminate number of chickens. She is the author of critically acclaimed The Light Between Worlds and can be found online at www.lauraeweymouth.com.

Reviews-

  • Publisher's Weekly

    Starred review from September 3, 2018
    In this haunting historical fantasy similar to Seanan McGuire’s Wayward Children series for adults, two sisters struggle with reacclimation to the modern world after spending years in a magical realm. In 1944, as London burns during WWII bombings, Philippa, Jamie, and Evelyn Hapwell are transported to the enchanted Woodlands—only to discover that their refuge has its own troubles with war on the horizon. Six years of Woodlands time later, the trio is returned to the moment that they left London, unchanged physically but possessing a lifetime of experiences. Years later, Evelyn, 16, who hasn’t stopped longing for the Woodlands, vanishes in an attempt to return to the only place she’s ever considered home. Her older sister, Philippa, is consumed with guilt over Evelyn’s fate, even as she tries to create a life that doesn’t revolve around responsibility for her sibling. In this love letter to portal fantasies and Narnia, Weymouth infuses her characters with a rich panoply of emotions set against wartime England. A shining thread of hope and healing mitigates the book’s heartbreak and underlying trauma, suggesting a bright future for all involved. Ages 13–up. Agent: Lauren Spieller, TriadaUS.

  • AudioFile Magazine Narrators Fiona Hardingham and Moira Quirk skillfully deliver the story of two sisters. Evelyn is lost between two worlds: the magical Woodlands, where her heart feels truly at home, and post-WWII England, where her family remains. Older sister Philippa does what she must to find a place again in their current world. With distinct voices and accents for each of the characters, both Hardingham and Quirk bring the listener into the worlds shared by the siblings. They equally engage the listener so that one feels Evelyn's despair and Philippa's uncertainty and guilt. The slight variations between narrators can be attributed to each character's point of view, adding another layer to this superb production. A.L.S.M. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award � AudioFile 2018, Portland, Maine
  • School Library Journal

    Starred review from December 1, 2018

    Gr 8 Up{amp}ndash;During a bombing raid on London at the end of World War II, Evelyn and Philippa Hapwell, along with their brother Jamie, were transported to a magical realm called the Woodlands. There they stayed for six years, fighting a war against the mighty Tarsan Empire alongside Cervus, the Guardian of the Woodlands. But now, they've abruptly returned home, to the exact point in time they were swept away from, and ever since then, they've struggled to adjust to life in England. Jamie and Philippa just want to forget the Woodlands. But Evelyn, who fiercely believes that she belongs there, just wants to go back, and spends her days wandering the woods searching for reentry. When Evelyn goes missing, Philippa must confront the fissures in the Hapwell children's lives{amp}mdash;and come to terms with the fact that either Evelyn did find a way back, or was consumed by the grief that had haunted her since their return. In this emotional and poignant debut, Weymouth explores the story that The Chronicles of Narnia did not tell: how would someone cope with returning to the real world after living their lives in a magical realm? Told in alternating flashbacks between life in the Woodlands and life in England, the lyrical and moving prose paints a portrait of a family torn apart desperately struggling to heal itself. VERDICT A powerful, magical debut for all YA fantasy shelves. Hand this to anyone who ever wondered what may have happened to the Pevensie children after Narnia.{amp}mdash;Tyler Hixson, Brooklyn Public Library

    Copyright 2018 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus

    August 15, 2018
    A mystical novel about three siblings finding, then losing, then finding their ways home again.In the middle of the Blitz, 10-year-old Evelyn Hapwell imagines "a haven of silence and golden light," wishing to go "Anywhere but here." She and her two siblings, Philippa and Jamie, are magically summoned to the Woodlands, greeted by a majestic stag named Cervus, who tells the children that "a Woodlands heart always finds its way home." This refrain is repeated throughout the novel, as it alternates between the children's adventures in the Woodlands (war, peace, negotiations with corrupt royalty) and their subsequent attempts to readjust to normal life when Cervus sends them back to London. Five and a half years of their experiences collapse when they're transported back to the middle of the bombing they had escaped, their parents none the wiser. Evelyn, who believes that hers is truly a Woodlands heart, struggles to cope, whereas Jamie and Philippa are happier to be back home. Halfway through, the focus switches from traumatized Evelyn to cool, collected, and competent Philippa, who is a far more intriguing character with a more strongly realized plot than her sister. Main characters are white and there is significant ethnic diversity in secondary characters.The slightly lackluster fantasy at the center of this novel provides an interesting perspective on war, trauma, and recovery. (Fiction. 13-17)

    COPYRIGHT(2018) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperTeen
  • OverDrive Listen
    Release date:
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Burn to CD: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to device: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to Apple® device: 
    Permitted
    Public performance: 
    Not permitted
    File-sharing: 
    Not permitted
    Peer-to-peer usage: 
    Not permitted
    All copies of this title, including those transferred to portable devices and other media, must be deleted/destroyed at the end of the lending period.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 30 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
The Light Between Worlds
The Light Between Worlds
Laura E. Weymouth
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
The Light Between Worlds
The Light Between Worlds
Laura E. Weymouth
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Halton District School Board, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close