Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Don't Call the Wolf
Cover of Don't Call the Wolf
Don't Call the Wolf
Borrow Borrow
Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black will devour this gorgeously imagined fantasy about a dark forest besieged by monsters—and the wild queen who has sworn to drive them out. A fierce young...
Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black will devour this gorgeously imagined fantasy about a dark forest besieged by monsters—and the wild queen who has sworn to drive them out. A fierce young...
Available Formats-
  • OverDrive Listen
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black will devour this gorgeously imagined fantasy about a dark forest besieged by monsters—and the wild queen who has sworn to drive them out.

    A fierce young queen, neither human nor lynx, who fights to protect a forest humans have long abandoned.

    An exhausted young soldier, last of his name, who searches for the brother who disappeared beneath those trees without a trace.

    A Golden Dragon, fearsome and vengeful, whose wingbeats haunt their nightmares and their steps.

    When these three paths cross at the fringes of a war between monsters and men, shapeshifter queen and reluctant hero strike a deal that may finally turn the tide against the rising hordes of darkness. Ren will help Lukasz find his brother...if Lukasz promises to slay the Dragon.

    But promises are all too easily broken.

    This Eastern European fantasy debut, inspired by the Polish fairy tale "The Glass Mountain," will take you on a twisting journey full of creeping tension, simmering romance, and haunting folklore—perfect for readers who loved An Enchantment of Ravens and The Hazel Wood.

About the Author-

  • Aleksandra Ross's earliest memories include sitting on the couch and listening to her grandmother read the Polish folktales of her childhood. She grew up in Vancouver, BC, and went to medical school at the University of Alberta. Don't Call the Wolf is her first novel.

Reviews-

  • Publisher's Weekly

    March 9, 2020
    Ross’s uneven Polish folklore-inspired debut opens 17 years after a seemingly invincible Golden Dragon kills Kamien´a’s royals and slaughters its military, facilitating invasion by assorted monsters. Lynx/human shapeshifter Ren, 17, endeavors to protect the forest animals who made her their queen but believes the Golden Dragon is causing evil to spread. Enter Lukasz Smoków, 21, who hails from a legendary clan of dragon slayers called the Wolf-Lords. Having nearly died while battling an Apofys dragon, Lukasz wants to return home to the mountains, like his brothers before him, but doesn’t know the way, as he left when he was four. Ren distrusts humans, who have been cruel to her and her friends, but out of desperation, she strikes a deal: if Lukasz will slay her dragon, she will guide him home. Formulaic plotting slows the narrative, and though Lukasz and the beings who accompany them lack complexity, robbing the tale of emotional heft, Ross delivers a fierce, fully fleshed heroine and a richly textured fantasy with a kind heart. Includes a pronunciation guide. Ages 13–up. Agent: Brent Taylor, TriadaUS.

  • AudioFile Magazine From her first words, narrator Eileen Stevens captures listeners with a story inspired by the Polish fairy tale "The Glass Mountain." Stevens lends energy to the tale of a shape-shifting queen and the last dragon slayer as they team up to protect their forest for conflicting reasons. One of the many benefits of listening to this audiobook is getting to hear Stevens's effortless-sounding pronunciations of monstrous creatures and Eastern European names. Stevens eases the transitions between the present and flashbacks while staying true to the personalities of Lukasz and of Ren in both her lynx and human forms. Stevens enhances the tension in this story, leaving listeners spellbound. J.O � AudioFile 2020, Portland, Maine

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperTeen
  • OverDrive Listen
    Release date:
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Burn to CD: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to device: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to Apple® device: 
    Permitted
    Public performance: 
    Not permitted
    File-sharing: 
    Not permitted
    Peer-to-peer usage: 
    Not permitted
    All copies of this title, including those transferred to portable devices and other media, must be deleted/destroyed at the end of the lending period.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 30 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Don't Call the Wolf
Don't Call the Wolf
Aleksandra Ross
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Don't Call the Wolf
Don't Call the Wolf
Aleksandra Ross
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Halton District School Board, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close