Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Under Shifting Stars
Cover of Under Shifting Stars
Under Shifting Stars
This heartfelt novel for fans of Jandy Nelson and Adam Silvera follows twins Audrey and Clare as they grapple with their brother's death and their changing relationships—with each other and...
This heartfelt novel for fans of Jandy Nelson and Adam Silvera follows twins Audrey and Clare as they grapple with their brother's death and their changing relationships—with each other and...
Available Formats-
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    0
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • This heartfelt novel for fans of Jandy Nelson and Adam Silvera follows twins Audrey and Clare as they grapple with their brother's death and their changing relationships—with each other and themselves.

    Audrey's best friend was always her twin, Clare. But as they got older, they grew apart, and when their brother Adam died, Clare blamed Audrey for the accident. Now, Audrey's attending an alternative school where she feels more isolated than ever. Tired of being seen as different from her neurotypical peers, Audrey's determined to switch to the public high school, rebuild her friendship with Clare, and atone for Adam's death . . . but she'll need to convince her parents, and her therapist, first.

    Clare knows her sister thinks she's the perfect twin, but Audrey doesn't realize that Clare's "popular" status is crumbling—she's begun to question old friendships, dress in Adam's clothes, and wonder what feelings for a nonbinary classmate, Taylor, might mean. As she grapples with not only grief but also her gender fluidity, Clare wonders where she'll belong if she sheds her carefully constructed image and embraces her true self.

    Will first crushes, new family dynamics, and questions of identity prove that Audrey and Clare have grown too different to understand each other-or that they've needed each other all along?

About the Author-

  • Alexandra Latos lives in Alberta, Canada with her husband and children. This is her first young adult novel. Visit her at alexandralatos.com, or on Twitter and Instagram @alexandralatos.

Reviews-

  • Kirkus

    July 15, 2020
    Fraternal twins Clare and Audrey have always been together, but after the death of their older brother, Adam, a rift has grown between them. Clare explores her gender and orientation, weighing her identity and growing attraction to nonbinary student Taylor against her social life in public school. Meanwhile Audrey struggles to accept her neurodivergence and attendance at Peak, an alternative school for gifted students derided by her friends, who say it is for freaks. She tries to keep both facts hidden from her new friend and love interest, Calvin, who introduces her to the joys of LARPing. These two narratives are punctuated by bumbling attempts at a reconciliation between the twins; born 13 minutes apart, Clare is a Taurus and Audrey is a Gemini, a difference that is presented as symbolic of their contrasts. Latos' prose is highly relatable, giving an accurate and gut-wrenching depiction of the uncertainty of growing up and finding oneself. She emphasizes the pain that comes from knowing that someone you love has changed without you along with the fear of being left behind. Bullying of queer and neurodivergent students is shown in all of its bitter truth. At the same time, Latos reassures readers that these situations are not hopeless. Fourteen-year-old Clare and Audrey, along with the rest of the cast, are cued as White. A painful page-turner with heartwarming moments sprinkled throughout. (Fiction. 14-18)

    COPYRIGHT(2020) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    August 14, 2020

    Gr 7 Up-Twins Audrey and Clare have been growing apart for a while, and it doesn't seem like high school is going to bring them any closer. Audrey is at a new school that has a better program for neurodiverse students, while Clare is struggling to maintain her popularity despite finding having little in common with her friends. Both twins are also grieving in their own ways for their brother, who died in a car accident a few months ago. Audrey knows that his death was her fault, and that Clare blames her too. Audrey also knows that if she can just get back to "normal" school with Clare, they can reestablish their bond and Clare will forgive her. She just needs to find a way to convince everyone else that it's a good idea. Meanwhile, Clare's grief causes her to withdraw from her normal life, and she pulls away more when she begins to explore her gender identity. Latos's character-driven narrative carries the twins along parallel paths. They fall in love, discover new passions, and gain a deeper understanding of themselves. As a second tragedy threatens, Clare and Audrey find their way back to one another. The straightforward writing allows readers to stand in the eye of a hurricane of issues, and depicts intersectionality so deftly that readers feel the chaos of Clare's thoughts and sympathize with Audrey's need to plan for every eventuality. VERDICT Highly recommended. Give this to readers who are looking for issues-based fiction and anyone who enjoys getting into a character's head.-Heather Waddell, Sargent Memorial Lib., Boxborough, MA

    Copyright 2020 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 30 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Under Shifting Stars
Under Shifting Stars
Alexandra Latos
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Under Shifting Stars
Under Shifting Stars
Alexandra Latos
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Halton District School Board, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close