Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
The Brave
Cover of The Brave
The Brave
Borrow Borrow
Perfect for fans of Rain Reign, this middle-grade novel The Brave is about a boy with an OCD issue and his move to a reservation to live with his biological mother.Collin can't help himself—he...
Perfect for fans of Rain Reign, this middle-grade novel The Brave is about a boy with an OCD issue and his move to a reservation to live with his biological mother.Collin can't help himself—he...
Available Formats-
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • Perfect for fans of Rain Reign, this middle-grade novel The Brave is about a boy with an OCD issue and his move to a reservation to live with his biological mother.
    Collin can't help himself—he has a unique condition that finds him counting every letter spoken to him. It's a quirk that makes him a prime target for bullies, and a continual frustration to the adults around him, including his father.
    When Collin asked to leave yet another school, his dad decides to send him to live in Minnesota with the mother he's never met. She is Ojibwe, and lives on a reservation. Collin arrives in Duluth with his loyal dog, Seven, and quickly finds his mom and his new home to be warm, welcoming, and accepting of his condition.
    Collin's quirk is matched by that of his neighbor, Orenda, a girl who lives mostly in her treehouse and believes she is turning into a butterfly. With Orenda's help, Collin works hard to overcome his challenges. His real test comes when he must step up for his new friend and trust his new family.

About the Author-

  • James Bird is a screenwriter and director at the independent film company, Zombot Pictures; his films include We Are Boats and Honeyglue. A California native of Ojibwe descent, he now lives in Swampscott, Massachusetts with his wife, the author and actor Adriana Mather, and their son. The Brave is his debut novel.

Reviews-

  • School Library Journal

    Starred review from June 1, 2020

    Gr 5 Up-Collin may be in middle school, but readers of all ages will relate to his journey of self-discovery. Collin is neurodiverse; he counts every letter that is spoken to him and compulsively says the resulting number out loud. This makes him a target for bullies. His father is cold and, after yet another blow-up at school, he sends Collin to live with the mother he has never met. She is Ojibwe, and lives on a reservation in Minnesota. This move appears to be a terrifying life change, but it ends up being wonderful. Collin meets family, learns about Native customs, and becomes friends with Orenda, the girl next door. Through his friendship with Orenda, Collin accepts things about himself, learns to trust, and grows stronger both physically and emotionally. However, Orenda is terminally ill. Ultimately, he learns to give her strength in return. Collin finds inspiration in the books that Orenda introduces him to, specifically the novels of Adriana Mather. Ghosts, spiritualism, Ojibwe culture, and the ability to find wonder in everyday events all blend seamlessly into a powerful coming-of-age story. VERDICT This is an amazing debut full of heart, authenticity, and courage. A recommended first purchase for libraries serving middle graders and teens.-Claire Covington, Broadway H.S., VA

    Copyright 2020 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Booklist

    Starred review from June 1, 2020
    Grades 5-8 *Starred Review* Sent to live on a reservation with his estranged mother after his OCD gets him into hot water at school, Collin is faced with starting over again in Bird's beautifully written debut. Collin's condition, a rare iteration of OCD, compels him to count and announce the number of letters someone speaks when talking to him, which makes fitting in anywhere a challenge. Yet, he finds unexpected acceptance from the Ojibwe community with whom he now lives. There he meets Orenda, a girl with a secret and an unusual perspective of the world, with whom he experiences first love. Meanwhile, Collin tries new strategies to manage the bullies who tease him and gathers wisdom from some unlikely sources. This stunning novel features a protagonist whose candor readers will treasure, and Collin's precocious and perceptive narration adds realism to the characters who populate his new life. Bird also enriches the narrative with seemingly magical elements sprinkled throughout the novel. Endearingly earnest and with a refusal to shy away from the tough parts of life, up to and including death, this fresh and imaginative story has touches of Bridge to Terabithia and is perfect for fans of Wendy Mass' A Mango-�Shaped Space (2003) and Eric Gansworth's Give Me Some Truth (2018). Bird, himself of Ojibwe descent, has written an exceptional #OwnVoices novel not to be overlooked.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2020, American Library Association.)

  • DOGO Books gold3nglare - Collin Couch is a mostly normal kid. Except he has a compulsion to count every word uttered to him. He often gets made fun of at school by his peers for it, and this leads to him getting kicked out of school after school. One day, Collin decides to fight back which results to him getting booted after yet another school. His father has had enough and contacts Collins long lost mother. Collin is angry and shocked at the same time. Angry that yet again, he was the victim, and yet again he's being punished. Angry that his own father would ship him away. Angry with the all of those numbers in his head. But on the other hand, he's shocked that he'll finally meet his mother whom his father refused to ever talk about. The longer Collin stays with his mother and grandmother on the Ojibwa reservation, the more he learns about himself, and the nature around him. He even befriends his neighbor Orenda who is bound to a wheelchair because of her medical condition. He learns about his late older brother Aji. And how he should embrace who he is. This is a powerful story that will make you laugh, leave you in shock, and make you start up stgart bawling at the same time. I love this book, and I'm sure you will too.
  • School Library Journal, starred review "An amazing debut full of heart, authenticity, and courage."
  • Booklist, starred review "Endearingly earnest and with a refusal to shy away from the tough parts of life...this fresh and imaginative story has touches of Bridge to Terabithia and is perfect for fans of Wendy Mass' A Mango-Shaped Space and Sherman Alexie's The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. Bird, himself of Ojibwe descent, has written an exceptional #OwnVoices novel not to be overlooked."
  • Nic Stone, New York Times-bestselling author of Dear Martin "It's rare to find a book that gives insight into an intensely specific cultural and cognitive experience, yet simultaneously taps something universal: wanting to be accepted for who you are and find where you fit. The Brave does just that, and so much more. I've never read anything like it. Collin is a kid it's impossible not to root for."
  • The New York Times

    "Bighearted."

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Feiwel & Friends
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 3 titles every 30 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
The Brave
The Brave
James Bird
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
The Brave
The Brave
James Bird
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Halton District School Board, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close